#

Live gluten free

Wherever you are and whatever you're doing, gluten free can always be on the menu.

Frequently asked questions

We know that things are uncertain right now and want to give you some reassurance about what we’re doing to deliver your Genius bread and other favourites safely to keep the shelves stocked.

Our bakers are continuing to produce our range and we’re working closely with our retail partners to keep supply to stores as normal as possible. As we all know this is an ever evolving situation. Along with the priority to keep our employees & consumers safe, we are committed to producing as much as we can for as long as possible.

We have and will always have very strict hygiene rules in place but we are extending our precautions and following the advice from our Government & the NHS.

If there’s anything you’d like to ask us, you can contact us via our enquiry form.

Other information you might find helpful can be found on the Coeliac UK website.

  1. What is gluten?

    Gluten is a protein found in cereals such as wheat, rye and barley. When it's mixed with water gluten forms stretchy, sticky strands that bind mixtures together and trap bubbles to form the light and airy consistency of bread and cakes. This means that cooking without gluten requires different ingredients and methods.

  2. What does gluten-free actually mean?

    Although the term 'gluten free' implies no gluten, in reality tests aren't sensitive enough to detect a zero level of gluten. Only foods that contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm), sometimes expressed as 200mg gluten/kg, can be labelled 'gluten-free', which allows even those who have a high sensitivity to gluten to be able to eat them with confidence.

    It's important to read food labels when starting on a gluten-free diet, as gluten can be found in the most unexpected places such as in soy sauce and cooking sauces. UK law means that all foods must say if they contain any allergens and so you'll be able to see straight away whether something contains gluten.

    All Genius foods are gluten free, as well as being wheat free too.

  3. What foods should I avoid?

    Gluten is present in many of our common foods including bread, pasta, pizza, cakes, biscuits and breakfast cereals. A lot of processed foods, such as soups, sauces and ready meals contain gluten too, and it can also be found in foods where you might not expect it such as sausages and burgers (as breadcrumbs or rusk is used to bulk the meat out).

  4. What foods can I still enjoy?

    As well as all the delicious gluten-free Genius foods, there are lots of naturally gluten-free foods. These include meat, fish, fruit, and vegetables. Rice, potatoes and a wide range of grains and pulses, such as quinoa, buckwheat and lentils, are also naturally gluten free and so make great healthy meal accompaniments. 
  1. What makes Genius different to other gluten-free products on the market?

    Genius bakery products are fresh, deliciously light, and made from high fibre natural ingredients. Our range of delicious gluten-free foods smell, tastes and feel every bit as good as traditional wheat products.

  2. What is the best way to store Genius products?

    All Genius bakery products are best stored in a cool, dry place and kept in their original packaging, re-sealing them where possible.

  3. Can Genius bakery products be frozen?

    Yes, all Genius bakery products purchased in the UK can be frozen. Put them in the freezer as soon as possible after purchase and use within one month of freezing.

  4. Why is the price of Genius products more expensive than those of equivalent gluten containing products?

    It is an inescapable fact that the cost of producing a gluten-free loaf of bread is significantly higher than a loaf made from wheat. Ingredient prices, a highly technical production process, the lack of economies of scale and additional supply chain and distribution costs all contribute to the higher price of gluten-free bakery products compared with wheat-based bread.

    A typical gluten-free loaf will have over 20 ingredients in its recipe, many of which compensate for the lack of wheat. The resultant ingredient cost for a gluten-free loaf is about two to three times that of an equivalent conventional loaf.

    The highly technical manufacturing process used to make gluten-free bread is also a major factor behind the higher cost of producing Genius products. 

  5. Why are Genius products higher in fat that their gluten containing alternatives?

    Genius gluten-free bread contains slightly more fat than conventional wheat bread but it is ‘good fat’ in the form of rapeseed oil. The levels of saturated fat (the fat we all should avoid) in Genius bread are low and similar to those found in wheat bread. The rapeseed oil helps to give Genius its moist texture, brings out the flavour of the ingredients and also helps to keep it fresh and tasty.

  6. Are any of your products suitable for a vegetarian diet?

    With the exception of our Steak Pies, Chicken & Gravy Pies and Sausage Rolls all Genius products are suitable for vegetarians.

  7. Are your products suitable for a vegan diet?

    The following products are suitable for a vegan diet:
    Plain Wrap, Beetroot Wrap, Kale Wrap, Carb Cutter Crisp Bread, Protein Punch Crisp Bread, Fibre Fest Fusilli Pasta, Protein Punch Penne Pasta, Pitta Bread, Plain Bagels and Cinnamon & Raisin Bagels.

    Please note that our bagels are still produced on a site that handles egg, so these are not suitable for egg allergy sufferers.

  8. Are Genius products suitable for a Halal diet?

    Currently we cannot claim Halal status for any Genius product.

  9. Are Genius products suitable for a Kosher diet?

    Currently we cannot claim Kosher status for any Genius product.

The ingredients in Genius gluten-free food are the real magic behind their great taste.

At Genius, we put a lot of time and care into selecting the ingredients in each new gluten-free recipe we create. This is how we ensure that everything, from our soft bread rolls to our lovely loaves, is as delicious as possible while remaining gluten-free.

  1. Do Genius gluten-free products contain GMO ingredients?

    No! All UK Genius gluten-free food is made with ingredients that are free from GMO.

  2. What is Genius’ position on palm oil?

    Some recipes for our gluten-free foods do contain palm oil. However, we are committed to using palm oil from sustainable sources. We also extend this policy to ingredients in our recipes that are derived from palm oil.

  3. What is the vegetable oil used in Genius gluten-free foods?

    Genius bread is made using rapeseed oil. The levels of saturated fat in rapeseed oil are low and are similar to those found in wheat bread.

    If you have any further questions about ingredients in our gluten-free food, please do [contact us contact us.

  1. Do Genius gluten-free foods contain wheat?

    Nope. You’ll be pleased to hear that all of our gluten-free foods are made without wheat.

  2. Do Genius gluten-free foods contain yeast?

    Some of our products do contain yeast. However, this yeast is gluten-free too! The yeast plays a very important part in the baking process as it helps the foods to rise.

    Using alternatives to yeast (like bicarbonate of soda) tends to leave an unpleasant, acidic taste and can be bad for the quality of our bread and other baked foods.

  3. Do Genius gluten-free foods contain egg?

    Yes – because our foods don’t contain gluten, we use egg as a way to bind our bread together.

    The great news is that we only use free range eggs in all Genius foods.

  4. Does Genius gluten-free bread contain dairy?

    Most of our gluten-free bread loaves and rolls are free from milk. However, there are some foods that we make that do contain dairy in their recipe. Check out our product pages for more info.

  5. What's the difference between dairy free and egg free?

    Generally, dairy is any food we get from a cow; milk, cheese, butter, yoghurt etc. (not beef, of course) are core dairy products. As cows don’t lay eggs, eggs aren’t considered dairy or a derivative of dairy.

  6. Are Genius gluten-free foods nut free?

    All Genius foods – apart from our Breakfast Bakes – are made on sites that do not handle nuts. However, some of our ingredient suppliers are unable to guarantee that their sites are nut free.

  1. Where can I buy Genius bread in the UK?

    You can find Genius in most supermarkets and lots of independent stores. For more information on stockists take a look here 

  2. I have problems finding Genius products near me, is there anything which I can do?

    If you are having difficulties in finding Genius in a supermarket near you, we recommend that in the first instance you speak to the Store Manager or Customer Service desk and let them know that you would like to see Genius Gluten Free products on their shelves.
  1. Does Genius have a pharmacy range?

    Yes, Genius Gluten Free has a pharmacy range. For more information about the products take a look here. 
1. To see a copy of our Anti Slavery Policy Statement, please click here 
1. To see a copy of our 2018 Gender Pay Gap Report, please click here